Heckington Windmill

Heckington Windmill

The windmill is ten minutes walk from our house, next to the station. It’s a working mill, though at the moment not working while the recently restored sails are waiting to be put on again. When they’re back on, we’ll be making our daily bread from wheat grown and milled less than a mile away from home.

We went in today to join up as friends – Sunday is opening day in winter – and had a very interesting look around – then delicious cherry and apricot strudels from the tea shop.

7 thoughts on “Heckington Windmill

  1. I knew of this windmill before this blog: when I mentioned to Steve and Judy the name of your village they immediately exclaimed, “The windmill!”. It seems that on their family trips to The Broads the Heckington Windmill is one of the landmarks of the journey. I’m glad to learn that it is a working mill.

    1. I always like to visit the windmill. I come to Heckington once, maybe twice a year from Kent because my Wife’s grandparents are laid to rest bin the municipal cemetery and we come up to look after their plot, look at his old house in Cameron Street, generally relive some memories…………..the Wife, mostly from her holidays in Heckington and we always pay a visit to the windmill. Always buy flour and oats because my Wife makes our own bread and we usually visit the tea rooms /bistro next door. I must say, the lunches are super. Always a highlight! The microbrewery was open on the last occasion we came up, last years show, I think it was, and I must say that the beer was great. Just what we want to buy these days. Shame I had to drive 200 miles home, though or I would have had more.
      A few years ago we werte thinking about moving up to Heckington. Frankly, we could have sold up down here and bought a palace up there, with some to spare and I was even contemplating the train into St. Pancras every day for work. But, local ties, family, Grandchildren to miss and so on, all makes such a move impractical. Anyway, I probably wouldn’t get so much pleasure out of Heckington if I were there all the time as opposed to just making the occasional visit. so, roll on a little bit better weather and we will pay another visit to the Bistro and the brewery. and mill some more flour!

      1. Well, I’m glad you have found the blog – hope you enjoy it. We haven’t got a palace here, but houses and gardens certainly cheaper than Manchester, and I guess Kent is even pricier! We buy our flour from the mill to make bread, and oats to make porridge for visiting grandchildren – and usually go the tea rooms for some strudel at the same time.

  2. As yes. The strudel. Very nice, too.

    Perhaps the palace was a bit of a stretch of the imagination, but you know what I mean.
    My Wife’s grandad was old Mr. Humphrey who was for years the factor/gardener/groundsman of the Hall. His house was the original in Cameron Street, then they built the new ones in the close. I only met him once but I stll remember him walking around the walled garden of the Hall, with my two Son’s in tow, showing them around. Unfortunately, that was the only time that he met them because he passed away soon after. That would have been in about 1980. I doubt that there are many left up there who would remember him now. Certainly not in the local history society anyway.

  3. The house we have moved into was only built in 1980 so perhaps not even there when your wife’s grandfather was alive. I have noticed that house on Cameron Street being older than the ones in the close behind it – and have wondered when it was built.

    1. I will have a word with the Wife and see what she remembers about it. I do know that the ‘newish’ house opposite was part of the piggery and that the long building behind it was used as a bath house for troops sometimme arounf WW2 I think.

Leave a Reply

