Moonrise

Some of my best thinking has been done on trains in the past. Just now travel seems instead to interrupt thought and thus writing. I had another quick trip away last week, to London this time, for a mediation course. And as before, I came back with a jumbled mind and nothing to say.

For years I have felt that I needed travel to give me inspiration, ideas or stories; and have felt frustrated, angry, prevented from writing. Now ideas come at home; nothing earth-shattering perhaps, just the bits and pieces which end up on here, but so welcome. It’s such a relief to feel that openness and expansion from which thoughts bubble up, unforced, unanxious, surprising, like the best of good friends.

So perhaps, I think, it was space and light I was after, all these past years; space, light and this so-English landscape of field and hedgerow and water.

When the dogs and I came to the field yesterday afternoon, I mistook a smear of yellow light for the last of the sunset – even though, as we know, the sun sets behind the church, in the west and not the east. Then, a lovely thing, the moon appeared, a pale vast gold sphere, striped with cloud, hanging low over the fields. Found myself wondering if one can call the moon gold when traditionally she is silver; thought of Romeo and ‘yonder blessed moon… that tips with silver all these fruit tree tops.’

Today at twilight I was on my way to Grantham station. Driving due west, my way ahead was all black trees against a yellow sky fading to white; mile after mile into the dying of the light.

Collected partner off the train from happy jaunt to see Man United beat Fulham at Old Trafford. Home again in the dark, but all the way we had that moon again, huge and low and orange as a harvest moon; symbol of plenty in the depths of winter.

2 thoughts on “Moonrise

  1. Have you ever come across the concept of negative capability? I think it was Keats who described it thus, but Philip Pullman also uses it in the His Dark Materials trilogy (though I don’t think he calls it that). I’ve worked with the idea in art galleries before as well, and it’s really successful. It’s the sitting comfortably with uncertainty and ‘not-knowing’, rather than striving to solve everything. It’s also, I think, about the space that opens up when you let go and just be. Sometimes, that’s when the ideas begin to emerge, as you say, ‘bubbling up’ from who knows where. Easier said than done, I suspect, especially when you’re running around managing work, research, housework, kids and dog! I think that’s what I loved about the allotment, it had that quality to it.

    Loving your pics and thoughts, you’re clearly a natural blogger!

Leave a Reply

