Wind farm postscript

imageReading comment about pylons and turbines, on my wind farm post earlier today, reminded me of another set of giants in a flat, farmland setting: the Mullard Radio Astronomy Observatory telescopes at Lord’s Bridge in Cambridgeshire.

These majestic structures are only a couple of miles from where I grew up in Grantchester. On walks with my friend from up the lane, I used to pass right beside and underneath them. They were an everyday mystery, part of the landscape and alien, on a different scale from our other surroundings, their focus on distant galaxies while we two teenagers and my friend’s family dog wandered minuscule beside them.

The photo above is not mine – I found it on a nice site about cycle rides around Cambridge and Ely, called Fenland Rides. Have a look at it here.

Leave a Reply

