Childhood landscape

I’ve written early on in this blog about how the Lincolnshire countryside, though unknown to me before I moved, seemed completely and instantly familiar.

Here are pictures I took yesterday, on a walk from Barton to Grantchester, a few miles to the south of Cambridge. I’m visiting my mum, who still lives in the village where I grew up – and I have walked this way often over the years since childhood. You can see from these why arriving in a flat, agricultural landscape would seem like coming home to me!

As with other galleries, tap/click on a picture to see them in bigger versions.

2 thoughts on “Childhood landscape

  1. Reblogged this on Flat Earth, Big Sky and commented:

    More on the theme of reconnecting with the landscape in which I grew up. And I am typing this comment with a country music programme on telly in the background and John Denver singing ‘ country roads, take me home to the place where I belong.’ How very appropriate, even though East Anglia, unlike West Virginia, has no mountains.

Leave a Reply

