Dances with daffodils

single daffodil

And then my heart with pleasure fills
And dances with the daffodils

After writing my host of golden daffodils’ post, I looked up Wordsworth’s poem, I wandered lonely as a cloud, where the daffodil reference comes from. Click on the link above to see the poem – on the Poetry Foundation’s website – if you don’t know it.

I’m not sure if I have ever read the whole poem before. It is so familiar that it’s hard to read it without being tripped up by famous phrases. But I was struck by the last two lines (see above) and the image of the poet remembering the beauty of the mass of flowers after the event.

It has left me thinking about how, when so many of us lead such indoor lives, we hold on to that lift of the spirits that being outside in nature can give us.

There are two parts of this for me. The first is remembering how good the outdoors, open space and nature are for me, so I remember to spend more time there and not let myself get trapped in the house. And the second, perhaps more challenging, is how to bring the daffodils, the trees and waves back inside with us, keeping the dance and the freedom in our hearts even when we cannot see the light.

5 thoughts on “Dances with daffodils

  1. I always had a faint question in my mind about that simile: “…lonely as a cloud”. I mean, in the Lake District? Lonely? They travel in battalions in my experience.

  2. Agree! I think it may be the least good bit of the whole poem – which is a pity really, as it is the opening of it. Even apart from clouds travelling in gangs, it just doesn’t seem a good simile for a person wandering about looking at the scenery.

  3. The daffodils are out in Southern Cemetery. I look out for them every year, they are like a shout of joy, chattering, gossiping and relishing the nervous spring sunshine. At last!

Leave a Reply

