The bells, the bells…

A bit of an experiment this, as flagged up in my last post: here is a minute of so of bell-ringing as heard from my garden on Tuesday evening just after I got home from the train.

The weekly bell-ringing session is from 7 to 9pm. Church bells, like crowing cockerels, often give rise to stories of townies moving to the country and not liking the noise. But I spent my childhood in a village: bells, chickens, cows, bring them on, I say.

These are accompanied by evening birdsong and some flowers for you to look at. Definitely not an attempt at video art; just a chance for you to drop into my garden for a moment.

I can’t help wondering if the birds take any notice of the bells or not. In the background, at the end of the clip, you can just hear the rooks cawing from their home a few gardens away (see Rooks at bedtime). Now they really are noisy neighbours.

2 thoughts on “The bells, the bells…

  1. Just catching up on emails and discovered your bell ringing post – brilliant! Brought a ray of country life into a rather damp Manchester morning.

  2. Ooh, lovely. Just seen this. I love the particular quality of church bells, the way the melody shifts as each bell’s timing varies very slightly and the way the sound seems to hang in the air just as the bell does before it tips. Little glimpse of garden very enticing too.

Leave a Reply

