An Easter lunch

Eggs, hard-boiled

We don’t have any chickens yet but we know people who do. These eggs came from two different flocks of hens whose owners kindly donated them to us. Home-grown eggs are so much tastier – eating other people’s makes me all the more impatient to have chickens again.

We are off to France for a short holiday and so I have been trying to use up everything in the kitchen which won’t last until our return. Our very English picnic on the ferry will include these eggs, hard-boiled and an apple cake with allspice and ginger (very nice, though I say so myself).

Easter has been and gone, of course, but something about the pretty eggshell shades and being about to go on holiday makes me feel I am having my Easter celebration now. Spring is well and truly sprung and we will have a night’s camping on the way to Paris. Campsites always lift my spirits, as I wrote in this post last year.

Leave a Reply

