1 year, 11 months ago…

…I began this blog, just two weeks before moving from Manchester to lovely Lincolnshire.

Before I started posting a friend gave me some advice: ‘Never blog about why you haven’t been blogging!’ It seemed sound to me, excuses and apologies never making for interesting reading; and I decided that when my posts became apologies it would be time to stop.

I posted 110 times in the first 12 months of the blog but in the past 11 months I have only written 27 posts. I think it is time…

I can think of reasons good and bad for the writing having dried up. It has been a hard few months, with family demands and problems taking me often away from home and distracting me from myself. I have had very little time for the walking, outdoors and landscape which inspired much of my thinking and writing last year. I have been preoccupied with worry about people I love but about whom I am not going to write about here. I have had less time to savour that sense of freedom and lightness that I have written about finding since moving to Heckington.

And yet, there is something more, something different. I began this when about to make a giant step (for me) into a new life and in the following months I explored what it meant to have made such a choice. At some point earlier this year I felt I had reached a different place in my understanding. I think I had said what I wanted to say here. But I have enjoyed writing and having people read my words and making new connections. So I couldn’t quite bring myself to leave – although I’ve written very little.

I’m winding up the blog in a month’s time, on my second blog birthday. Between now and then I am going to revisit posts I wrote along the way and reflect on the journey. In my first-ever post, Farewell Manchester, which appears below, I wrote about the things I would and wouldn’t miss about the city. I don’t miss all of them as much as I thought, though I miss people just as much as I knew I would.

This picture is from Chorlton Meadows, where I walked with my dogs for years and years. In the winter of 2011 it was an amazing winter wonderland. I miss seeing it in all its different hues and seasons. And oh I do miss my dogs!

Meadows Winter 2011

3 thoughts on “1 year, 11 months ago…

  1. Dear Veronica

    As someone who discovered your blog while we were in the midst of (trying to) move to Lincolnshire, I’m very grateful that you took the time to write it for so long. We’re now in Lincolnshire, and much of what you have written sums up how I feel about this lovely county. You reflect my thoughts far better than I ever could. Best wishes for the future.

  2. It will be sad to see you go, from someone who also lives in the Fens….,I enjoy seeing your photos of your part of them……why not keep it going with the odd posts now and again until you have time again 🙂

  3. I too will be sad to see the end of your blogs, I’m not a regular reader, but tend to wade in and read a glut of them when I’m feeling down. I have always found your way of simplifying the beauty of life uplifting, and it has been so much appreciated. I agree with Blosslyn, an occasional post if your world inspires you… the share is valued. Good luck and God bless!

Leave a Reply

