Childhood landscape

More on the theme of reconnecting with the landscape in which I grew up. And I am typing this comment with a country music programme on telly in the background and John Denver singing ‘ country roads, take me home to the place where I belong.’ How very appropriate, even though East Anglia, unlike West Virginia, has no mountains.

Flat Earth, Big Sky

I’ve written early on in this blog about how the Lincolnshire countryside, though unknown to me before I moved, seemed completely and instantly familiar.

Here are pictures I took yesterday, on a walk from Barton to Grantchester, a few miles to the south of Cambridge. I’m visiting my mum, who still lives in the village where I grew up – and I have walked this way often over the years since childhood. You can see from these why arriving in a flat, agricultural landscape would seem like coming home to me!

As with other galleries, tap/click on a picture to see them in bigger versions.

View original post

Leave a Reply

